MoaShanon

Förra veckan verkar det som att både Shanon och jag hade vintageböcker på hjärnan när vi tog våra foton, vilket ju var ett roligt sammanträffande! Mitt foto föreställer en bok jag köpte på en second hand-butik i Stensele utanför Storuman. De hade så att man fick köpa en hel kasse full med böcker för bara 10 kr och då plockade jag ihop alla böcker de hade med snygga vintageomslag. Just här syns förstås inte omslaget alls men jag tog några foton på omslagen också så jag får blogga om dem en annan gång.

Shanon har fotograferat en vintagebok hon köpte till sin son Graham. Jag älskar den fina teckningsstilen på bilden! För övrigt så kan jag tycka att det är synd att vissa fina engelska namn inte gör sig så bra på svenska, Graham är ett riktigt vackert namn på engelska men det finns liksom ingen direkt motsvarighet på svenska som inte får en att tänka på mjöl…

Last week both Shanon and I seem to have had vintage books on our minds, we both chose them as a motif for our weekly shots! My photo shows a book that I bought at a thriftshop in a very small community when we visited my sister and her husband the year before last. They had an offer where you could fill a bag of books and only pay about $1,50, so I gathered all the pretty vintage books I could find. You can’t see the cover in this shot but I took some other shots so I’ll blog about that another time.

Shanon has shot a beautiful picture from a vintage book she bought for her son Graham. I just love the style of the drawing! Another thing that came to mind, there are several names that are great in English but that don’t really have any equivalent in Swedish. I absolutely love the name Graham, I think it’s a really sweet and kind of old-fashioned name (in a good way) but in Swedish it’s the name of a type of flour – and biscuits that are made from that flour – so it doesn’t really work as a name for a person here…